Fannin's Place

MMC6612, Fall 2010

Media Diary 9/16 (Day 5)

with 2 comments

1100 checking email (10 mins)

1200 log in Facebook, reply messages (50 mins)

1400 log in Amazon.com, searching ways of returning purchased items (30 mins)

1830 SKYPE with my parents (15 mins)

2030 way back to home, listen to radio in car (10 mins)

2200 log in Facebook replying messages (15 mins)

chatting on MSN (30 mins)

Summary:

Watching TV- 0 mins

Listen to the radio- 10 mins

Use internet- 150 mins

Today is my birthday, many friends left birthday wishes on my facebook, I spend a lot of time reply those messages one by one. I remembered there was time that we actually wrote cards to friends at special occasions. Then we gradually started to send e-cards, there were e-card sites can make personalized cards to your friends. Until now, we no longer write card or send cards, we left messages on facebook or connect by MSN, SKYPE as a quicker and more convenience way to deliver our best wishes. We once spent 30 mins to write a card, and sent it, but now we can convey messages in 1 mins, even shorter than 60 secs. Technology has really made life easier, but somehow I have missed the old-fashioned way of handwriting and the joy of opening an actual letter. Don’t you?

Written by fanninchen

September 16, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy birthday! Your post made me remember how much I disliked e-cards. However, I think I would have liked them a lot when I was in high school — especially the ones you can customize.

    I never liked receiving the e-cards. I didn’t like having to open a new window, and the e-cards are not very personal, so it was a waste of time.

    I think you spend a lot of time offline — that’s probably good, but also, it’s surprising!

    Mindy McAdams

    September 17, 2010 at 11:21 am

    • keeping a diary makes me realize that I spend too much time online! Time to go on a media diet!

      fanninchen

      September 18, 2010 at 12:22 am


Leave a Reply

