Fannin's Place

MMC6612, Fall 2010

Media Diary 9/15 (Day 4)

with 2 comments

0900 wake up

1000 rush to school

1030 checking email on ipod touch (5 mins)

1430 log in Facebook on ipod touch (20 mins)

1800 listen to the radio in car (15 mins)

1900 watch TV (30mins)

2000 log in Facebook,  replying  messages (60 mins)

checking email (15 mins)

blog posting (30 mins)

MSN+SKYPE(45 mins)

Checking yahoo news in Taiwan (15 mins)

Summary

using internet 145 mins

listen to the radio 15 mins

watching TV 30 mins

Today is a busy school day, and I found out that once I keep away from my computer, there is less time I spend on the internet. Moreover, through 4 days of diary, I realize that I check email over 3 times a day, actually, I often open a gmail tab in my browser, checking my inbox once for a couple hours. What’s so important? Am I waiting for a crucial message? Or I’m obsessed with deleting the garbage mail instantly. I believe there is a certain information panic between the young generation, or even heavy user of internet. The panic will push us to check email or log in on social network to check up on the latest news or friends’ current status. Honestly, it’s not necessary to check up email so many times a day (even on weekends), but we just can’t help it.

Written by fanninchen

September 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think this resonates with many people (not only young people):

    “Honestly, it’s not necessary to check up email so many times a day (even on weekends), but we just can’t help it.”

    Did you stay away from your computer on Wednesday deliberately, or it just happened?

    Mindy McAdams

    September 16, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    • Because I was at school the whole day without my computer so I didn’t check for my email frequently, then I suddenly realized that I don’t need to check my mail that often!

      fanninchen

      September 16, 2010 at 11:04 pm


Leave a Reply

